Navigating through a 'tabbed' interface

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
User avatar
pgriffin
Automation Wizard
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: US and Europe

Navigating through a 'tabbed' interface

Post by pgriffin » Wed Nov 02, 2005 6:27 pm

I am trying to write a macro for an interface with several tabs to which I need to navigate based on the text on the tab. I can see the tabs in "View System Windows" and I am wondering if there is a way to select a specific tab other than a mousemove or some convoluted series of TAB, Right Arrow, etc....

SkunkWorks

Danish_Ken
Junior Coder
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:34 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Post by Danish_Ken » Tue Nov 08, 2005 2:52 am

Really depends on how the application you are addressing has been written. Standard Microsoft and similar tabbed apps, can usually be navigated with CTRL+TAB

If the WindowTitle changes to reflect the the current tab name, you could wrap the navigation in a GetActiveWindow> and Repeat> Untill> loop.

In a worst case scenario, with no WindowTitle or any other means of navigating, you could try using GetWindowText>

Good luck
/Ken
Macro Scheduler since Version 5.0 - 21/10/1998

User avatar
pgriffin
Automation Wizard
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: US and Europe

Post by pgriffin » Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:54 am

thanks for the idea of GetWindowText. As I tab through the app, the window title remains constant, and when I press TAB the 'tab' I need never gets focus. (piece of crap software)...

I don't like them, but I am having to do a MouseMove to select the tab for now.

Skunk

User avatar
support
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 4:38 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by support » Tue Nov 08, 2005 1:33 pm

SkunkWorks wrote:and when I press TAB the 'tab' I need never gets focus.
It won't. You need to send CTRL+TAB:

Press CTRL
Press TAB
Release CTRL
MJT Net Support
[email protected]

User avatar
pgriffin
Automation Wizard
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: US and Europe

Post by pgriffin » Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:15 pm

Press CTRL
Press TAB
Release CTRL

has absolutely no effect on this application. A series of TABS does some navigation, but wont' ever reach any of the 'tabs'.

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts