Problem with semicolon in result FindObject

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
wil
Junior Coder
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:00 pm

Problem with semicolon in result FindObject

Post by wil » Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:55 pm

Hello,

In Notepad's editor i have the following text: test1;test2

I am using the following code to get the text from Notepad's editor:

Code: Select all

//Get the text from Notepad's editor:
GetWindowHandle>Untitled - Notepad,hWnd
FindObject>hWnd,Edit,,1,hWnd,X1,Y1,X2,Y2,result
Message>result
The result is test1. I expected: test1;test2.
Any ideas?

thnx, wil

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3517
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Problem with semicolon in result FindObject

Post by JRL » Wed Nov 09, 2016 10:20 pm

For the record. I get the same result you are getting. Have no idea why the semicolon cuts off the rest of the text.

If you want to know the answer you'll need to get a response from Marcus. If you just want something that works, I usually use GetControlText>.

Code: Select all

//Get the text from Notepad's editor:
GetControlText>Untitled - Notepad,Edit,1,result
MDL>result

wil
Junior Coder
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Problem with semicolon in result FindObject

Post by wil » Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:01 pm

Thnx, JRL. GetControlText is a nice workaround for this situation. And yes i am curious what Marcus has to say about this.

wil

Post Reply
cron
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts