Rename Files with Consecutive Numbers?

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
yarrielle
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:47 pm

Rename Files with Consecutive Numbers?

Post by yarrielle » Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:58 pm

Hi,

I LOVE the record feature for creating scripts! But, unless I want to manually go through the process of a WHOLE script, I'm not sure how to use it in this case.

What I'm trying to do is rename files with consecutive numbers. The script I recorded is this:

___________________________________________________

//Recorded Events
Let>WW_TIMEOUT=5
CapsOff
Press NP1
Wait>0.22
Press NP0
Wait>0.23
Press NP4
Wait>0.59
Send>.jpg
Wait>0.63
Press Down
WaitWindowOpen>Rename
MoveWindow>Rename,312,292
ResizeWindow>Rename,401,157
WaitWindowOpen>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment
MoveWindow>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment,-4,-4
ResizeWindow>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment,1032,748
Wait>0.65
Press NP1
Wait>0.17
Press NP0
Wait>0.22
Press NP5
Wait>0.42
Send>.jpg
Wait>0.25
Press Down
WaitWindowOpen>Rename
MoveWindow>Rename,312,292
ResizeWindow>Rename,401,157
WaitWindowOpen>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment
MoveWindow>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment,-4,-4
ResizeWindow>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment,1032,748
Wait>0.4
Press NP1
Wait>0.19
Press NP0
Wait>0.24
Press NP6
Wait>0.19
Send>.jpg
Wait>0.25
Press Down
WaitWindowOpen>Rename
MoveWindow>Rename,312,292
ResizeWindow>Rename,401,157
WaitWindowOpen>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment
MoveWindow>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment,-4,-4
ResizeWindow>Microsoft FrontPage - \\Brettdell\documents\Manak Enterprises\My Webs\All That Entertainment,1032,748
Wait>4.01
Press CTRL
Wait>0.7
Press ALT
Wait>0.27
Send>x
Wait>0.02
Release CTRL
Wait>0.02
Release CTRL
Wait>0.67
MouseMove>738,761
Wait>2.49
LClick
Wait>0.21
LDown
WaitWindowOpen>Macro Scheduler 7.2
MoveWindow>Macro Scheduler 7.2,183,53
ResizeWindow>Macro Scheduler 7.2,808,574
Wait>0.14

_____________________________________________

The NP1 NP0 NP6 is where I typed in numbers. I'm trying to name all of the files in this directory 101-201 .jpg. Is there a way to tell it after the first one (101.jpg) to keep going consecutively until it reaches (201.jpg) ?

(Special note for those who catch on that I'm using 'Press Down' to get from one file name to the next. You may be confused since this doesn't work in Microsoft Windows folders. It works in this case because I'm doing the renaming in a FrontPage folder, which thankfully supports the arrow down to put you into the 'rename' of the next file listed.)
Yarrielle
I'm way too stupid for this! ;-)

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:15 pm

This is untested, but should do what you want. Modify paths to suit.

Code: Select all

GetFileList>c:\folder\*.jpg,filelist
Separate>filelist,;,files
Let>start=100
Let>k=0
Repeat>k
  Let>k=k+1
  Let>this_file=files_%k%
  Let>newname=start+k
  MoveFile>this_file,c:\folder\%newname%.jpg
Until>k=files_count
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

yarrielle
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:47 pm

Post by yarrielle » Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:37 am

Hello, and thank you. It looks so simple when you do it. :-D

However, I finally had a chance to try this out tonight.

I tried changing the lines with C:\folder... to the actual directory and running it again. I got the error 'Error: Label not found!'

Now I'm wondering what I was supposed to do with that snippet you gave me that I didn't do. I have no doubt that the error lies with me...I'm such a noobie at this.

And...Does it matter that the folder I'm accessing is over a network, which causes the path to show up like \\Path\blah\blah ?

Thanks
Yarrielle
I'm way too stupid for this! ;-)

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:05 am

No, it does not matter if you use a network path. That is fine.

The Label not found error cannot be coming from the GetFileList command. There must be something else wrong with your script.

Please use the debugger to find the line that causes the error:
http://www.mjtnet.com/blog/2006/05/17/use-the-debugger/

If you are still none the wise, post your script here. We cannot help much if we can't see your code.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

yarrielle
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:47 pm

Post by yarrielle » Mon Apr 28, 2008 8:36 pm

Hi, I'm finally back again. (I didn't see this response...Guess I forgot to suscribe to this, sorry.)

Here is my code, but I'm so confused now. I think what I've done is taken what you gave me and nothing else and tried to make that work. I'm not sure. Here is what I have:

GetFileList>C:\Documents and Settings\Becky Manak\Desktop\Current\*.jpg,filelist
Separate>filelist,;,files
Let>start=100
Let>k=0
Repeat>k
Let>k=k+1
Let>this_file=files_%k%
Let>newname=start+k
MoveFile>this_file,C:\Documents and Settings\Becky Manak\Desktop\Current\%newname%.jpg
Until>k=files_count

I see that there is no rename command in there at all. I can only assume I messed up and took that out. Now I'm not sure where to put it.

Also, I did run the debugger. On the very last line it told me 'Error - Label not found' But all the other lines acted like they were working.

Thanks for your time on this; I hope I'm not a hopeless case!
Yarrielle
I'm way too stupid for this! ;-)

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:26 pm

MoveFile> does the rename, from the program help:

MoveFile>sourcefile,destinationfile

Moves the file (or files), sourcefile, to the file (or files) destinationfile.

sourcefile, and destination_path may be variables. Wildcards can be used.

To make MoveFile perform a simple Rename function, rather than physically moving the entire file, set MF_RENAME to 1.

macroman
Pro Scripter
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:32 am

Re:

Post by macroman » Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:47 am

Marcus Tettmar wrote:This is untested, but should do what you want. Modify paths to suit.

Code: Select all

GetFileList>c:\folder\*.jpg,filelist
Separate>filelist,;,files
Let>start=100
Let>k=0
Repeat>k
  Let>k=k+1
  Let>this_file=files_%k%
  Let>newname=start+k
  MoveFile>this_file,c:\folder\%newname%.jpg
Until>k=files_count
what if you're trying to pull *.jpg and *.gif as well? how do you add that in there?

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Rename Files with Consecutive Numbers?

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu Jun 09, 2016 8:57 am

A simple way would be just to run that code twice, for each filetype. Make it a subroutine. Call it for each filetype you want.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

Post Reply
cron
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts