Result Variable

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
Machariel
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:40 pm

Result Variable

Post by Machariel » Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:14 pm

Hi.
In allmost all commands there has to be a result variable, but I don't get it.. For example.:

I want to use the command 'GetTextInRect' to read text in one place and then copying it to another place.

GetTextInRect>1300,37,1320,53, ??and then what??
________
Dodge specifications
Last edited by Machariel on Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3518
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:19 pm

GetTextInRect>1300,37,1320,53, ??and then what??
Replace " ??and then what??" with the text string that you would like as a variable. For example:

Code: Select all

//Get the text at specified location and assign it to variable named "MyText"
GetTextInRect>1300,37,1320,53,MyText

//View "MyText" in a modal message box
MessageModal>%MyText%
If you need to place this text in another location. You first need to navigate to the location. Lets say you have Notepad open and you want to put the captured text into Notepad. Add the lines SetFocus>NotePad* and Send>%MyText%.

Code: Select all

GetTextInRect>1300,37,1320,53,MyText
SetFocus>NotePad*
Send>%MyText%

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts