Hints, tips and tricks for newbies
Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL
-
Dexter1
- Pro Scripter
- Posts: 64
- Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:28 pm
Post
by Dexter1 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:00 pm
Is there a way to make a dialog box appear on the center of a screen, regardless of the monitor size? I know I can change the Top and Left numbers to move the dialog box, but that may not always be the center.
Code: Select all
Dialog>Dialog2
Caption=Ship Short Workflow Installer
Width=218
Height=67
Top=104
Left=16
ProgressBar=msProgressBar1,8,8,193,17,0
EndDialog>Dialog2
Show>Dialog2
Thanks,
Josh
-
Dexter1
- Pro Scripter
- Posts: 64
- Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:28 pm
Post
by Dexter1 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:43 pm
Wow, good thing I posted this in the Newbie section! I found the answer on page 50 of the manual.
Code: Select all
Dialog>Dialog2
Caption=Ship Short Workflow Installer
Width=218
Height=67
Top=Center
Left=Center
ProgressBar=msProgressBar1,8,8,193,17,0
EndDialog>Dialog2
Show>Dialog2
Thanks,
Josh
-
Me_again
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1101
- Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
- Location: Somewhere else on the planet
Post
by Me_again » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:44 pm
Well done!
-
obfusc88
- Pro Scripter
- Posts: 87
- Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 6:22 pm
Post
by obfusc88 » Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:13 pm
i just tried this to center my Dialog and it did not work for me. it just shows up at top left corner. what am i doing wrong?
-
Bob Hansen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 2475
- Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
- Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
-
Contact:
Post
by Bob Hansen » Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:17 pm
The value of CENTER is Case Sensitive, as shown in the Help file.
This does work:
Code: Select all
Dialog>Dialog2
Caption=Ship Short Workflow Installer
Width=218
Height=67
Top=CENTER
Left=CENTER
ProgressBar=msProgressBar1,8,8,193,17,0
EndDialog>Dialog2
Show>Dialog2
Experiment:
Try changing Top and Bottom to lowercase "center" one at a time and see that those will translate to "0". If not all UPPERCASE characters, it defaults to zero.
Last edited by
Bob Hansen on Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!
-
JRL
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 3526
- Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
- Location: Iowa
Post
by JRL » Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:18 pm
CENTER needs to be capitalized.
Dialog>Dialog2
Caption=Ship Short Workflow Installer
Width=218
Height=67
Top=CENTER
Left=CENTER
ProgressBar=msProgressBar1,8,8,193,17,0
EndDialog>Dialog2
Show>Dialog2
-
obfusc88
- Pro Scripter
- Posts: 87
- Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 6:22 pm
Post
by obfusc88 » Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:46 pm
thank you to bob hansen and to jrl for the speedy answer. and you both have the same answer too. i have just made the changes in a Dialog that jrl created for me. it is all coming together. great help, thank you again.