Open script in editor
Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL, Phil Pendlebury
Open script in editor
In the past I was able to right click on a script and then open it in the editor. I installed ver 15 and it runs the script when I choose open with. I forgot how I changed it to open in the editor does anyone know. I searched the forum for +editor +open +right +click but no luck
- Grovkillen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1131
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
- Location: Bräcke, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Open script in editor
Try add "-EDITOR" after the path in the target setting of the shortcut:
from
to
I guess the same goes for the standard application settings?
from
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Macro Scheduler 15\msched.exe"
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Macro Scheduler 15\msched.exe" -EDITOR
Re: Open script in editor
I already do that. I am trying to make it so I right click on a script and from the drop down I select "Open With" and have it open in the editor. Currently it runs it, before I updated to ver 15 I could do it.
- Grovkillen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1131
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
- Location: Bräcke, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Open script in editor
Regedit:
from:
to:
Double click on a macro file (.scp) will now open it in the editor instead of running it.
EDIT: it just opens the editor, not with the script... sorry.
EDIT2: this should work:
Code: Select all
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\msched\shell\open\command
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Macro Scheduler 15\msched.exe" "%1"
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Macro Scheduler 15\msched.exe" "%1" "-EDITOR"
EDIT: it just opens the editor, not with the script... sorry.
EDIT2: this should work:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Macro Scheduler 15\msched.exe" "-EDITOR" "%1"
Last edited by Grovkillen on Thu May 07, 2020 7:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
- Grovkillen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1131
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
- Location: Bräcke, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Open script in editor
And right click and choose "edit" instead of "open" will already do what you want...?
- Grovkillen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1131
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
- Location: Bräcke, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Open script in editor
PS. and thanks for asking because I now have put this as my default action when clicking a script Never got around to do it until you reminded me.
Re: Open script in editor
Many thanks, now it opens in the editor just the way I wanted.
- Grovkillen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1131
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
- Location: Bräcke, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Open script in editor
The regex hack is being reset when I update MS. Could this be made into an option?
- Grovkillen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1131
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
- Location: Bräcke, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Open script in editor
I have now found out that the "(Standard)" value is read/written with the key set to "":
Should perhaps be added to the help documentation?
Code: Select all
RegistryReadKey>HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT,msched\shell\open\command,,CURRENT_KEY_VALUE
- Grovkillen
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1131
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:38 pm
- Location: Bräcke, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Open script in editor
Grovkillen wrote: ↑Tue Apr 20, 2021 10:21 amI have now found out that the "(Standard)" value is read/written with the key set to "":
Should perhaps be added to the help documentation?Code: Select all
RegistryReadKey>HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT,msched\shell\open\command,,CURRENT_KEY_VALUE
Any input on this?Grovkillen wrote: ↑Tue Apr 20, 2021 10:09 amThe regex hack is being reset when I update MS. Could this be made into an option?