How to check if an application has closed

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
Alpha_AI
Pro Scripter
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:30 am

How to check if an application has closed

Post by Alpha_AI » Sun Aug 10, 2008 2:09 pm

Hello

I would like to check if an application has closed.
I mean like closed (terminated), not hidden or minimized.

Kind regards,

Ben

GarryP
Junior Coder
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:01 pm

Post by GarryP » Sun Aug 10, 2008 6:36 pm


Alpha_AI
Pro Scripter
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:30 am

Post by Alpha_AI » Mon Aug 11, 2008 12:17 am

So how would I periodically check to see if it has closed without consuming too much memory.

Maybe a timer or a foor loop?

You see my macro will have to continuously monitor when an app has closed.

Ben

Alpha_AI
Pro Scripter
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:30 am

Post by Alpha_AI » Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:18 am

i'll tell u exactly what IM after

Lets say my compiled macro is called 'mymacro.exe'
and I have an app running named 'myapp.exe'

mymacro.exe continuously checks to see if myapp.exe is still running
if it is not running no more, then terminate mymacro.exe

Ben

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:51 pm

It's very hard to answer your question without knowing what mymacro does. If mymacro interacts with myapp then it would be logical to add the check for a running myapp into the code just before the interaction. If mymacro's only purpose is to monitor that myapp is running then a simple loop with a wait> is all you need.

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts