I'm not sure how the command line should read if I'm sending a file to an IP address instead of an HTTP URL. Also, I can't seem to find out from my vendor what the port should be. Do I really need it? How do I exlude it? The command I have (that isn't working) is
FTPPutFile>ftp.11.11.111.111,my login name,my password,21,z:\trac_upload\trac_export.csv,/inbox/trac_upload.csv,A
I didn't include the ftp address, my login or password. Hope you can still figure it out. Thanks to anyone that can help 'cuz this is driving me absolutely bonkers!
Using FTPPutFile for an IP address
Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:57 pm
- Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
- Contact:
Hi,
The FTP commands accept an FTP server address OR IP address (not a URL). And the port number is nearly always 21 for FTP. So to use an IP address just do:
FTPPutFile>123.123.123.123,Username,Password,21,Local_File,Host_File,A
Last parameter should be A for Ascii, I for binary transfer.
The FTP commands accept an FTP server address OR IP address (not a URL). And the port number is nearly always 21 for FTP. So to use an IP address just do:
FTPPutFile>123.123.123.123,Username,Password,21,Local_File,Host_File,A
Last parameter should be A for Ascii, I for binary transfer.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar
Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:57 pm
I am SO CLOSE to getting this darn thing to work! I believe I have the code almost right.
FTPPutFile>11.11.111.111,my loginname, my password,21,z:\trac_updates\trac_export.csv,/inbox/trac_upload.csv,A
Messagemodal>ftp_result
With ftp_result, I get the message "550 /inbox/trac_upload.csv: The system cannot find the path specified."
Any idea on what I'm doing wrong now? It looks like maybe the ftp command isn't seeing the sub-folder...
FTPPutFile>11.11.111.111,my loginname, my password,21,z:\trac_updates\trac_export.csv,/inbox/trac_upload.csv,A
Messagemodal>ftp_result
With ftp_result, I get the message "550 /inbox/trac_upload.csv: The system cannot find the path specified."
Any idea on what I'm doing wrong now? It looks like maybe the ftp command isn't seeing the sub-folder...
-
- Automation Wizard
- Posts: 1101
- Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
- Location: Somewhere else on the planet
Try it without the slash before the remote directory:
FTPPutFile>11.11.111.111,my loginname, my password,21,z:\trac_updates\trac_export.csv,inbox/trac_upload.csv,A
Messagemodal>ftp_result
Or you may need more levels of directory because inbox is more than one level below where you land when you login to the server.
FTPPutFile>11.11.111.111,my loginname, my password,21,z:\trac_updates\trac_export.csv,inbox/trac_upload.csv,A
Messagemodal>ftp_result
Or you may need more levels of directory because inbox is more than one level below where you land when you login to the server.
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:57 pm