Complicated problem

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

rmalone

Complicated problem

Post by rmalone » Thu Feb 09, 2006 12:22 am

Apologies in advance for asking what will surely be dumb questions, but I'm very new to this program.

I need to create and link graphics based on standard text fields that are being dumped into an MS Word template. There are also some inline graphics in these fields, which need to be included in the final graphics. Then, once I create the final versions, I need to link them into an archaic DOS-based system so that they can be used by cavemen around the world, who are stuck using this archaic software.

My macro will have several parts:

1. Copy from Word template into an intermediary Word template that has the layout of the graphics (necessary because I can't get the inline graphics into Photoshop otherwise - see step 3)
2. Take a screenshot of the Word template and save the template with data for that item for archival purposes.
3. Paste the screenshot into Photoshop, crop to a set size, and save the output as a JPG file.
4. Link the JPG file into the archaic system through a complicated, but easy enough, repeatable series of keystrokes.

Now, despite the number of steps, I thought this would be easy....but I can't even get past step 1. When I try copying the table fields from one Word doc to another, the Scheduler sometimes hangs, requiring me to intervene. Sometimes it skips a line of text from the template, which then means the next line gets pasted in the wrong field, and everything gets screwed up. Sometimes it won't save the file correctly (more often than not).