take data from email & put it into web entry page &

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

GeorgeKeen

take data from email & put it into web entry page &

Post by GeorgeKeen » Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:01 am

Hello,
I am a newbie, and wondering where to start.

You see, I receive numerous emails daily from several web sites. These include such information such as:
Subject: New Buyer Prospect
Name = John Jones
email = [email protected]
Phone = 606-312-1234
address = 123 Maple St
city = Novak
state = MI

property wanted:
city1 = Bradenton
city2 = Sarasota
Bedrooms = 3
Baths = 2
Motivation= soon as possible

The above is a consensus of the pattern the emails take. The several sources of the emails are not consistent. One might call the field NAME while another says PROSPECT, and another says BUYER. There are similar variations through out the other data. Also, most times, there is some information missing.

There is a MLS real estate web site I subscribe to. I would normally enter by hand such information there in its data entry page.

There is also a database, ACT! 2000, on my computer that I use and enter the information into, by hand. In both cases, there are occasional variations such as I mentioned regarding NAME, PROSPECT, CONTACT. These variations affect all the fields, and not all emails have the same fields.

Does the basic product have the ability to take the information and put it into such a web site data entry page, and also into the ACT! 2000 database?

I am so new that I don't know where to start. I learn best by short, simple examples, ones that I can follow and add to, even if it's only a small part of the big solution. Could it be script enough for an incoming email with Name = John Jones, and Phone = 941-776-1234, which then goes to a web data entry page where the Name is known as Contact Name and the Phone is known as Primary Phone. Further the Phone number must go into 3 separate fields/boxes: