Wait Needed Before SetFocus>

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
jalbt51
Junior Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 4:40 pm

Wait Needed Before SetFocus>

Post by jalbt51 » Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:53 pm

I just posted a long question about a script I was getting error messages from, and after submitting it, the embarrassing realization hit me that I had neglected to set WIN_USEHANDLE=1. Problem solved. The only reason I'll leave this here is because it's such a neat device for waiting after executing a file till the window is ready to accept a SetFocus>. SUPPORT gave this to me- it never waits too long and it does wait long enough.

Let>WIN_USEHANDLE=1
GetActiveWindow>old_window,x,y
ExecuteFile>C:\Documents and Settings\Joel\Start Menu\1x1.bmp
Label>waitforchange_4
GetActiveWindow>window_handle,g,h
Wait>0.02
If>window_handle=old_window,waitforchange_4
Let>aa=window_handle
SetFocus>aa
WindowAction>1,aa

fightcancer
Macro Veteran
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:32 am

Post by fightcancer » Wed Aug 10, 2005 6:46 am

nice script!

I wonder if you could answer a question for me. several of my macros require a short wait (e.g. 0.05 s) AFTER I set focus on a window. why's that? so if I REM the "Wait>0.05" out after the SetFocus> command, then my macro(s) won't work.... is it due to the speed of the computer?

just curious,

jalbt51
Junior Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 4:40 pm

Focus wait

Post by jalbt51 » Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:46 pm

You're not talking to an expert. However, it seems that bringing a window into focus is an event that takes time. The appearance of the window has to change(the title bar color and perhaps the window border must change). I wish I knew some sure signal that would allow a script to know "the window has come into focus and you don't have to wait any more". I've always simplified matters by working with a maximized window and absolute coordinates so I don't know if a getpixelcolor wait loop used with relative coordinates will help. (The problem is, the window is not up yet so you don't know where to look)

Does anyone know if it's possible to use relative coordinates to wait for a certain pixel color to appear in a certain place on the window no matter what size or position it comes up in? The instruction would have to be looking for a spot on a window that is not there yet. Wouldn't this produce an error message?

JRS
Pro Scripter
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:19 am

Post by JRS » Thu Sep 08, 2005 5:03 am

Jalbt51,

I do exactly what you describe with no problem. I "Hone in" on
pixel colors within a certain relative corrdinate range on the
screen with no problem at all. It's a very nice inherent
feature of Macro Scheduler.

Joel S.

User avatar
support
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 4:38 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by support » Thu Sep 08, 2005 6:52 am

I think that script must have been provided prior to the inclusion of the WaitWindowChanged function which now does the same thing. So you should just need the one WaitWindowChanged line rather than that loop.
MJT Net Support
[email protected]

JRS
Pro Scripter
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:19 am

Post by JRS » Thu Sep 08, 2005 10:20 am

Jalbt51,

Mjtnet Support is exactly correct for your purposes (and
I see mine as well in various instances in my scripts) to use WaitWindowChanged. Thank you support.

Joel S.

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3517
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:59 pm

Support,

I'm confused. (this is a common occurance, ask my wife)

The help for WaitWindowChanged says:
This command causes Macro Scheduler to wait until the foreground window changes. If it doesn't change within the number of seconds specified in Timout, the command stops waiting and the variable WWC_RESULT is set to FALSE. WWC_RESULT is TRUE if the command terminated because the foreground window changed within the specified time. if Timeout is set to 0, the command will wait indefinitely.
I have never used this function since I have never had an instance of wanting to wait for something in my foreground window to change which from reading the help is what I thought this function accomplished.

Reading this post, makes me think that the function is actually waiting for a different window to come into the forground.

Could you please clarify?
Thanks,
Dick

User avatar
support
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 4:38 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by support » Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:44 pm

It does the same thing. It waits for a change in foreground window. From one window to another. The latest help file is clearer.
MJT Net Support
[email protected]

User avatar
Bob Hansen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 2475
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen » Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:22 am

And how is WaitReady>1 different?
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!

User avatar
support
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 4:38 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by support » Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:46 am

Completely and utterly different! WaitReady waits for specific events to stop being processed by the current window. WaitWindowChanged waits until there is a change in foreground window ... i.e. a new or different window becomes the foreground window.
MJT Net Support
[email protected]

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts