SMTP Email Issue

Hints, tips and tricks for newbies

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
Dexter1
Pro Scripter
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:28 pm

SMTP Email Issue

Post by Dexter1 » Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:55 pm

Alright, something sad happened and all of my scripts were deleted from my computer. Yes, I am now archiving the scripts as I recreate them.

Edit: I'm using Outlook 2007 and MacroScheduler version 8.0.4.

So! I'm running the code below but find that I am unable to connect to the mail server, which is what SMTP_RESULT is telling me. We are using Outlook with Exchange servers. Before my scripts were all deleted, I had several functioning macros that sent emails and I was using this basic format.

In Outlook, going to Tools > Options > Mail Setup tab > E-Mail Accounts... and then double-clicking on the Microsoft Exchange name in the list of accounts gives me the name of the Microsoft Exchange server.

That's what I should be using for "server" in the code below, right? I'm not sure why I suddenly can't get this code to work.

Code: Select all

Let>SENDMAIL_STATUS=1
Let>subject=Report Distribution
Let>[email protected]
Let>myname=My Name
Let>[email protected]
Let>body=Attached are the reports you want.
Let>attachments=\\Server\Folder\Attachment.xls
Let>server=server.is.com

SMTPSendMail>recipients,server,me,myname,subject,body,attachments
mdl>SMTP_RESULT
On a side note, is there a way to decompile the MS .exes I generated (hopehope)? I still have all of the .exes I generated based on my MS macros.

Thanks,
Josh
Thanks,
Josh

Me_again
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Somewhere else on the planet

Post by Me_again » Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:12 pm

In my SMTP scripts (using a yahoo account/server) the

Let>me=[email protected]

would be

Let>me=my.name

without the domain name, and I need a password.

But I see the help has it the way you do so I don't know...

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3518
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:38 pm

Can you ping server.is.com?

Open a command prompt and type "ping server.is.com".

If you get a response you know that you have a good and accessible server name. If no response try again to find the name of the server.


If you search old posts you'll find Marcus EXTREMELY reluctant to decompile a script. (Info here has been removed by Moderator)


=====================================
Note from Moderator: I have removed a suggestion here from JRL that may have made public some information that should possibly be limited to licensed users of Macro Scheduler Professional.

As JRL had posted here, there are techniques that may be used by legitimate compilers to decompile some scripts. People who need to do a decompile should contact Marcus who may be willing to help or point you to someone else who can help.

Dexter1
Pro Scripter
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:28 pm

Post by Dexter1 » Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:52 pm

Ok, I'm pretty sure the server name I have is correct because it's what my Outlook is running on and I'm not having any issues with sending/receiving emails.

I tried the following with no luck. I guess I'll start trying passwords, etc.

me=My.Name

and

me=Name.My

The only reason I want to decompile the .exe is so I can see what my working code looks like.
Thanks,
Josh

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3518
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:55 pm

The only reason I want to decompile the .exe is so I can see what my working code looks like.
Yes... the problem is, how do you prove that you wrote the script and have the right to decompile it?


(Info here has been removed by Moderator)
=====================================
Note from Moderator: I have removed a suggestion here from JRL that may have made public some information that should possibly be limited to licensed users of Macro Scheduler Professional.

As JRL had posted here, there are techniques that may be used by legitimate compilers to decompile some scripts. People who need to do a decompile should contact Marcus who may be willing to help or point you to someone else who can help.

Dexter1
Pro Scripter
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:28 pm

Post by Dexter1 » Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:12 pm

No, I don't know how.

Where do I put this?
(Info here has been removed by Moderator)
=====================================
Note from Moderator: I have removed followup details from an earlier posting. See my notes on that posting.
Thanks,
Josh

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3518
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:26 pm

JRL had provided excellent information here, but details have been removed by Moderator to prevent release details of information restricted to licensed users of Macro Scheduler Professional.

Dexter1
Pro Scripter
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:28 pm

Post by Dexter1 » Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:36 pm

OO! OO!

That totally worked. Everything is working now. Thank you so much!

Josh
Thanks,
Josh

User avatar
Bob Hansen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 2475
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen » Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:31 pm

Everything is working now.
What did you do to fix your original problem? What was the script problem?
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts