Advice on using Create EXE from command line

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
ibatey
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:24 pm

Advice on using Create EXE from command line

Post by ibatey » Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:13 pm

I'm sure I had this working in the past , but now have a problem.

I'm trying to compile an EXE from the command line using the following script:

Let>script=D:\ibatey\Desktop\IDMB_Quicklinks_v6.scp
Let>exefilename=Quicklinkskoldffg.exe
Let>oOutput=D:\ibatey\Desktop
Let>oicon=D:\ibatey\Pictures\QL_Logo1-1.ico
let>string="D:\Program Files (x86)\Macro Scheduler 14\msrt.exe" -COMPILE "%script%" "%oOutput%\%exeFileName%" -ICON:D:\ibatey\Pictures\QL_Logo1-1.ico

messagemodal>string
RunProgram>cmd /c "%string%"

Everything works OK except that I can't get the icon to change from the default. Can anyone tell me whether my syntax is correct or whether I need to change something. I've tried various combinations of the -ICON parameter with/without spaces, quotes. etc

Effectively the string is:
"D:\Program Files (x86)\Macro Scheduler 14\msrt.exe" -COMPILE "D:\ibatey\Desktop\IDMB_Quicklinks_v6.scp" "D:\ibatey\Desktop\Quicklinkskoldffg.exe" -ICON:D:\ibatey\Pictures\QL_Logo1-1.ico


The icon is OK as it shows OK from the wizard... plus I have also tried it with a couple of standard windows icons.

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Re: Advice on using Create EXE from command line

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Thu Jan 14, 2016 2:51 pm

It needs the -OPTS: directive in there for an icon. So:

"D:\Program Files (x86)\Macro Scheduler 14\msrt.exe" -COMPILE "D:\ibatey\Desktop\IDMB_Quicklinks_v6.scp" "D:\ibatey\Desktop\Quicklinkskoldffg.exe" -OPTS: -ICON:D:\ibatey\Pictures\QL_Logo1-1.ico

Yeh, looks like the manual is wrong as it shows -OPTS: and -ICON: as mutually exclusive but they're not. It will only look for -ICON if -OPTS is there. I'll make a note to have that corrected in next update.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

ibatey
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:24 pm

Re: Advice on using Create EXE from command line

Post by ibatey » Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:14 pm

Aah..
Works perfectly now... didn't think to concatenate the parameters like that, but it makes sense once explained.

Thanks

Post Reply
cron
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts