Recorded keystrokes missing

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
RCR1991
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 11:56 pm

Recorded keystrokes missing

Post by RCR1991 » Fri May 05, 2006 11:59 pm

Strange: I am trying to get a plotting program called Origin to print from a MS script. Pressing ALT fp is recorded as:

Press ALT
Wait>0.25
Send>f
Wait>0.06
Release ALT
Wait>0.41
Press ALT
WaitWindowOpen>Print
MoveWindow>Print,213,288
ResizeWindow>Print,438,386
Wait>0.09
Release ALT

NO P after the F!

Pasting that code into my script doesn't work. Nothing happens, as I would expect.

And writing the code from scratch in the macro doesn't work.

Has anyone seen this before? MSched works so well but this program seems to be throwing it/me for a loop.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Rob

User avatar
Bob Hansen
Automation Wizard
Posts: 2475
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:47 am
Location: Salem, New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen » Sat May 06, 2006 1:26 am

Some menus on some programs are Case Sensitive.

You said you added the missing "P", but perhaps you need "p"?
Try one of the following two samples.

Press>ALT
Send>fp
Release>ALT

or

Press>ALT
Send>f
Release>ALT
Wait>.1
Press>ALT
Send>p
Release>ALT

======================
You also must be sure the the correct window has focus and is ready to accept input before using Press/Send/Mouse types of commands.


If you provide Code samples here (best way for us to help you), be sure to Cut/Past vs. typing in what think you see.
Hope this was helpful..................good luck,
Bob
A humble man and PROUD of it!

RCR1991
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 11:56 pm

but the recorded keystrokes don't show a p

Post by RCR1991 » Sat May 06, 2006 2:07 am

Bob,

I've read dozens of our posts so I know you're an AI+++ expert.

I had the code as you have written it.
Press ALT
Send>fp
Release ALT

tried Waits from 0.05 to 5 seconds--no difference

BUT please also note that this is a wierd situation where the RECORDED macro does NOT record the p (I made it uppercase for emphasis after two hours of goofing with this). I recorded four different examples of alt-fp and every time only ALT, send>f release ALT was not recorded.

press alt
send>fi
release alt

works fine in same code.

here is the code, with notes about what works and what doesn't:


//open file import dialog box
Press ALT
Wait>0.08
Send>fii
Release ALT
Wait>0.08
Press Enter * 2
WaitWindowOpen>Import Wizard - Source
MoveWindow>Import Wizard - Source,612,172
ResizeWindow>Import Wizard - Source,627,444
wait>1
//enter file name
Press Tab * 3
Send>file_names_%k%
wait>1
Press Tab * 10
Press Enter
wait>6

//switch from data view to chart window
Press CTRL
Press Tab
Wait>0.2
Wait>1

// Focus the app
SetFocus>Origin 7.5*

//print the chart
//everything works fine to this point

Press ALT
Wait>1
Send>fp
Wait>1
Release ALT
Wait>1
Press Enter
//program does nothing on above section form last comment to here

Ideas?

TIA<

Rob

RCR1991
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 11:56 pm

still not working

Post by RCR1991 » Sat May 06, 2006 3:30 am

I tried the suggestion of

Press ALT
send>f
wait>1
send>p
Release ALT

Still not working.

Suggestions?

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3517
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Sat May 06, 2006 4:45 am

Just a thought.
Perhaps the menu doesn't like the ALT + p combination. Have you tried:

Press ALT
Send>f
Release ALT

//To open the menu
Send>p
//To activate the print process

Another thought is that the menu might have a different window name. Have you used Tools > View System Windows to see what window names are being used by the program?

Good luck,
Dick

RCR1991
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 11:56 pm

fixed print, now trying SAVE to no avail!

Post by RCR1991 » Mon May 08, 2006 12:27 am

JRL's tip to take the p out of the ALT-fp and put in on a line by itself works for printing.

But the next part should save the file with a new file name. But nothing seems to happen. The keystrokes work in the sense that I can do all these steps exactly this way manually and the program does what I want. It will not, however, save a darn file.

My suspicion is that focus is awry. How do I find out what has the focus, and how do I find out the name of the active window--see below, I tried but got nonsense back.

// Focus the app
SetFocus>Origin 7.5*

//code to read file list
GetFileList>D:\AOK_5_1_06_CHART\test\*.txt,files
............

//open file import dialog box
............
//switch from data view to chart window
Press CTRL
Press Tab
Wait>.5

//macro works to here (thanks to JRL!)

//log files don't reveal much interesting

//save the file
Let>filename=file_names_%k%
Let>filename={copy(%filename%,1,length(%filename%)-4)}
//marcus helped me get the above two lines right, works fine, returns fn w/out .txt

wait>.5
Press>ALT
Wait>.5
Send>f
Wait>.5
Release>ALT
Send>a
wait>10
Send>filename
Wait>1
Press Tab * 2
Press Enter
wait>2
//my impression is that the main program windows does not have focus
//if I do all these steps manually, they work, and they work in the order I have laid them out

//tried following
/GetActiveWindow>window_title
/Message>window_title
//returned msg: 179
//tried setting focus to '179' but error said no such window found
How to test GetActiveWindow so I can understand how it is working?
tried a script from the arhives and it returns:
Origin 7.5 - D:\AOK_5_1_06_CHART\test\test - [zzzzzzz - zzzzzzz.txt]
as the active window
So why doesn't it take the focus, and respond to the ALT-f command??????

Tools View System Windows run at point where I cannot seem to get focus reveal the following when I search for Originâ€â€

User avatar
JRL
Automation Wizard
Posts: 3517
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: Iowa

Post by JRL » Mon May 08, 2006 3:16 am

//open file import dialog box
............
//switch from data view to chart window
Press CTRL
Press Tab
Wait>.5
A possible significant problem. You have press CTRL but have no release CTRL. Later in your code when you press ALT you're actually pressing CTLR + ALT which may not register with your application.

Later,
Dick

RCR1991
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 11:56 pm

ohmygosh!

Post by RCR1991 » Mon May 08, 2006 3:51 am

we just watched a movie called Prime. funny. this guy has an image of his grandmother hitting herself on the head with a pan every time he misbehaves.

I NEED A VERY BIG POT for my dumb head.

Press Ctrl
Press Tab
Release CTRL--that did it!

Not as insane as I thought it was. Though not as easy as some other pro I've kludged together for well behaving programs. Thanks a bunch!!!!!

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts