Server operations

Technical support and scripting issues

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

m204prgmr

Server operations

Post by m204prgmr » Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:11 pm

Good Morning,
I'm new here but not new to macro's for automation. I have a situation with another macro program and was wondering if this product can work for me where the other is not. As the admin I do not signoff of the server but rather disconnect. This allows my other macro program to run. The one thing it cannot do is type text in windows such as Notepad or DOS. Each time I set up something and schedule it to run, I return to find my DOS or Notepad windows open(which is good) but they are both greyed out and nothing more happened.
Any feedback with server operation would be great.
thanks
Robert

JRL
Automation Wizard

Post by JRL » Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:30 pm

I'm also an admin. I use Macro Scheduler extensively on the servers and on workstations. MS can open and write to notepad and/or to a DOS window but it can also write directly to a file. Why bother opening notepad? I've yet to find a notepad function that can't be replicated and performed faster within MS. (Oh... except manual typing).

Hope this is helpful,
Dick

m204prgmr

Post by m204prgmr » Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:12 pm

Hi Dick,
I used Notepad simply as part of my test. My setup had the macro looking every 2 minutes for a .txt file that was FTP'd from the mainframe via JCL. Once found, it was suppose to open DOS, signin to the mainframe and 'GET' another file. As mentioned earlier, with this other product and maybe with this forums product, I need to disconnect from the server in order for the macro program to stay resident in the system tray. It is not setup as a process and won't be for several months. When I signed back in, the DOS window title was greyed out as if a mouse click was done outside of the window thereby making it inactive or out of focus.
Do you think this product will work for me?
thanks
Robert

JRL
Automation Wizard