Technical support and scripting issues
Moderators: JRL, Dorian (MJT support)
-
Tobias
- Junior Coder
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 1:44 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
Post
by Tobias » Tue Jul 18, 2006 7:32 am
Hi,
Another question, since my last issue was answered so quickly.
I'm trying to lauch 2 programs (in different macros), using the Run Program command. For some reason both programs won't launch properly. One changes to a different mode and the other starts up, but shuts down again (I can only see the splash screen).
I can launch both programs (using the paths from Run Program) from the Windows Run box.
Both programs are used to record media files.
Does anyone have an idea what's happening?
-
Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
-
Contact:
Post
by Marcus Tettmar » Tue Jul 18, 2006 8:01 am
Odd. Run Program with the same path as what is placed in the Start/Run box will do exactly the same thing. Maybe we need to see your script. Perhaps you could post the code you are using. You could also try using ExecuteFile instead of Run Program.
-
Tobias
- Junior Coder
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 1:44 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
Post
by Tobias » Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:16 pm
The (relevant part of the) macro looks like this:
run program>C:\Program Files\V One Multimedia\MS Video Maker\Kusu.exe
Let>PosX=0
Let>PosY=0
GetCursorPos>Mx,My
setfocus>MS Video Maker
movewindow>MS Video Maker,PosX,PosY
....
The first line is causing the problem. The part after 'run program>' works fine in the Windows Start/Run box, but not in the macro.
I am not doing any file manipulations in the macro (I use another macro to generate a video), so I don't think ExecuteFile would be suitable. (actually, I tried it and it didn't work either)
-
Marcus Tettmar
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7395
- Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
- Location: Dorset, UK
-
Contact:
Post
by Marcus Tettmar » Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:19 pm
One thing - your macro does not allow time for the application to be fully open and active before it continues. You should change it as follows:
Code: Select all
Let>RP_WAIT=2
Run Program>C:\Program Files\V One Multimedia\MS Video Maker\Kusu.exe
WaitWindowOpen>MS Video Maker
Let>PosX=0
Let>PosY=0
GetCursorPos>Mx,My
setfocus>MS Video Maker
movewindow>MS Video Maker,PosX,PosY
Not sure if that has any bearing on the issue here, but it is an important change none-the-less.
Maybe the app needs to start in it's directory first. Try this:
Code: Select all
Let>RP_WAIT=2
Change Directory>C:\Program Files\V One Multimedia\MS Video Maker
Run Program>C:\Program Files\V One Multimedia\MS Video Maker\Kusu.exe
WaitWindowOpen>MS Video Maker
Let>PosX=0
Let>PosY=0
GetCursorPos>Mx,My
setfocus>MS Video Maker
movewindow>MS Video Maker,PosX,PosY
-
Tobias
- Junior Coder
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 1:44 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
Post
by Tobias » Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:35 pm
Excellent suggestion, Marcus!!
Adding the 'change directory' command solved it.
thanks again!
(and, yes, I should not forget the WaitWindowOpen command)