Onevent>Key_Down only fires once?

General Macro Scheduler discussion

Moderators: Dorian (MJT support), JRL

Post Reply
MikeSr
Junior Coder
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Contact:

Onevent>Key_Down only fires once?

Post by MikeSr » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:07 pm

I built a test script with a continuus loop monitoring the OnEvent>Key_Down. If fires and brings up my Dialog. I close the dialog and the loop continues, but the OnEvent won't work again unless I stop the script and restart.

Any ideas? Must be missing something here

Kind Regards,

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7391
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:19 pm

Sounds like you're stuck in the event subroutine. But as you haven't posted your code I can only guess. If you have not allowed the subroutine to end properly e.g. by jumping out of it with a goto, then, as far as OnEvent is concerned you're still in it, so it won't fire again - for this reason never jump out of event subroutines - always allow them to complete and get to the End statement.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

MikeSr
Junior Coder
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Contact:

Post by MikeSr » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:23 pm

Here is the code:
Label>Continue1
let>w=1
Label>trap
If>w=250

Goto>Continue1
Else
OnEvent>key_down,g,5,keys
let>w=w+1
message>%w%
Goto>trap


Srt>Displayit
//*********************************************************
//****** Get Startup times once on startup only ******
//*********************************************************
Dialog>Dialog3
Caption=Dialog3
Width=280
Height=226
Top=327
Left=643
Max=1
Min=1
Close=1
Resize=1
Edit=Hours,16,57,121,01
Edit=Minutes,17,87,121,30
Edit=Seconds,18,114,121,00
Button=DONE,155,59,75,25,1
Button=EXIT,157,108,75,25,2
EndDialog>Dialog3



WAIT>0.5
Label>MainLoop
Show>dialog3,result
If>result=1,Done
endif
If>result=3,DisplayMessage
endif
If>result=2,quit
endif

Goto>MainLoop
SRT>Done
Let>Preset_Time={(%Dialog3.Hours%*10000)+(%Dialog3.Minutes%*100)+%Dialog3.Seconds%*1}
//Message>Preset Time = %Preset_Time%
Goto>Continue1
END>Done

SRT>quit
exit
END>quit

END>Displayit

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7391
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:28 pm

The "keys" subroutine does not exist. This OnEvent will never do anything.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

MikeSr
Junior Coder
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Contact:

Post by MikeSr » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:28 pm

Sorry, I was to quick to post the code. I was tinkering with it. Here is the correct code

Label>Continue1
let>w=1

Label>trap
If>w=250

Goto>Continue1
Else
OnEvent>key_down,g,5,Displayit
let>w=w+1
message>%w%
Goto>trap
Endif


Srt>Displayit
//*********************************************************
//****** Get Startup times once on startup only ******
//*********************************************************
Dialog>Dialog3
Caption=Dialog3
Width=280
Height=226
Top=327
Left=643
Max=1
Min=1
Close=1
Resize=1
Edit=Hours,16,57,121,01
Edit=Minutes,17,87,121,30
Edit=Seconds,18,114,121,00
Button=DONE,155,59,75,25,1
Button=EXIT,157,108,75,25,2
EndDialog>Dialog3

WAIT>0.5
Label>MainLoop
Show>dialog3,result
If>result=1,Done
endif
If>result=3,DisplayMessage
endif
If>result=2,quit
endif

Goto>MainLoop
SRT>Done
Let>Preset_Time={(%Dialog3.Hours%*10000)+(%Dialog3.Minutes%*100)+%Dialog3.Seconds%*1}
//Message>Preset Time = %Preset_Time%
Goto>Continue1
END>Done

SRT>quit
exit
END>quit

END>Displayit

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7391
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:31 pm

Your DisplayIt subroutine never ends. ever. So the OnEvent is still firing. It can't fire again.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

User avatar
Marcus Tettmar
Site Admin
Posts: 7391
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Post by Marcus Tettmar » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:33 pm

Furthermore, if it was fixed so that it DOES end, the second time you fire your OnEvent you will get an error because you will be trying to create a dialog that already exists.

Remove the Goto>continue1 line.

Move the dialog blog to the top of your script so that it is only executed once.
Marcus Tettmar
http://mjtnet.com/blog/ | http://twitter.com/marcustettmar

Did you know we are now offering affordable monthly subscriptions for Macro Scheduler Standard?

MikeSr
Junior Coder
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Contact:

Post by MikeSr » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:53 pm

I guess I am not understanding well enough. When you say Move the Dialog Blog, does that mean all of that script or just the Dialog3 to enddialog

MikeSr
Junior Coder
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Contact:

Post by MikeSr » Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:15 pm

Thanks Marcus,
I found the problem thanks to your help. The loop within Display was not allowing the Displayit SR to end.
Now I got it.
I will display the code again for others to see:

Dialog>Dialog3
Caption=Dialog3
Width=280
Height=226
Top=327
Left=643
Max=1
Min=1
Close=1
Resize=1
Edit=Hours,16,57,121,01
Edit=Minutes,17,87,121,30
Edit=Seconds,18,114,121,00
Button=DONE,155,59,75,25,1
Button=EXIT,157,108,75,25,2
EndDialog>Dialog3

//**** MAIN LOOP ****

Label>Continue1
let>w=1
Label>trap
If>w=250
Goto>Continue1
Else
OnEvent>key_down,g,5,Displayit
let>w=w+1
message>%w%
Goto>trap
Endif

SRT>Displayit
//*********************************************************
//****** Get Startup times once on startup only ******
//*********************************************************
WAIT>0.5
//Label>MainLoop
Show>dialog3,result
If>result=1,Done
endif
If>result=3,DisplayMessage
endif
If>result=2,quit
endif
SRT>Done
Let>Preset_Time={(%Dialog3.Hours%*10000)+(%Dialog3.Minutes%*100)+%Dialog3.Seconds%*1}
END>Done

SRT>quit
exit
END>quit

END>Displayit

gdyvig
Automation Wizard
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:57 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by gdyvig » Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:32 pm

Hi MikeSr,


I don't understand why the OnEvent is in a goto loop.
Usually you just set it once at the beginning of the script.

Also, I see that the DisplayIt SRT does end at the bottom of the script. It has 2 other SRT's embedded in it. I guess that can be done but I'm not sure what it means. Usually each SRT is completely separate but one may call another.




Gale

User avatar
jpuziano
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1085
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:00 am

Post by jpuziano » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:25 pm

gdyvig wrote:I don't understand why the OnEvent is in a goto loop.
Usually you just set it once at the beginning of the script.Gale
I agree with Gale. Though it does not specifically say in the Help File to do that, the example provided shows it that way. The Help File entry for On Event also begins by stating that it... "Establishes an event handler."

From forums posts I've seen, I've gathered that once established, that's it, you never have to run that line of code again. Also I have seen people ask if you can "un-establish" an event handler that has already been established and I believe the answer was no... no way to do that at the moment.

So if you know you definitely want a particular event handler established and active in your macro right from the start, just establish it at the top and never run that line again.

A common exception to that might be if you are making a macro where you want to use OnEvent to simulate a hotkey and you want to give a user a choice between several hotkeys they might choose, you would have to get their choice first before establishing the proper event handler. Again, I'd advise to only do it once. If the user wanted to change their choice, they should probably terminate the macro and fire it up again so they could choose differently... because again, currently you cannot "un-establish" an event handler that has already been established.

Only Marcus knows if putting an OnEvent> line inside a loop where it may get executed thousands or millions of times is actually going to hurt anything... it may not but its certainly not accomplishing anything either except eating up CPU cycles so best to just set it once at the top.

Take care
jpuziano

Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post - :-)

gdyvig
Automation Wizard
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:57 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by gdyvig » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:35 pm

jpuziano
Also I have seen people ask if you can "un-establish" an event handler that has already been established and I believe the answer was no... no way to do that at the moment.
An easy solution is to have an if statement in the SRT the OnEvent runs. By controlling the value of a variable you can control whether the SRT acts or does nothing.


Gale

User avatar
jpuziano
Automation Wizard
Posts: 1085
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:00 am

Post by jpuziano » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:57 pm

Hi Gale,

Thanks... yes I think I've seen JRL do that in some of the stuff he's posted.

So while you can't un-establish an event handler once it has been established, you can stop that event handler from doing anything with a variable.

Of course, if you are trying to simulate a hotkey for a user running your macro (let's say they will be running it compiled)... and you would like to offer lots of choices of hotkey, say any letter of the alphabet plus a modifier key of either ALT, CTRL or SHIFT... well that's 78 separate OnEvent>KEY_DOWN lines you'd need... you'd get the user's choice and then run the correct one to setup the event handler... but then if the user changed their mind, you'd have to flip a variable that would prevent the established event handler from doing anything... and run the right line to setup the new desired event handler.

I suppose it could be done... but it sounds painful. If anyone has already tackled this or found a nifty way to offer a full range of user-selectable simulated hotkeys using OnEvent that works from within a compiled macro... please share the magic... or even your thoughts on how it might be done.

Thanks and take care
jpuziano

Note: If anyone else on the planet would find the following useful...
[Open] PlayWav command that plays from embedded script data
...then please add your thoughts/support at the above post - :-)

Post Reply
Sign up to our newsletter for free automation tips, tricks & discounts